official website


"A large-hearted book, written with empathy, force, and verve."           

                 Ron Carlson, author of Five Skies

Tommy Zurhellen is the author of the award-winning Messiah Trilogy, the groundbreaking novel series that reimagines the life of Jesus ... but set in North Dakota, starting in the 1980s. And yes, there's a dragon. Nazareth, North Dakota(2011) , Apostle Islands(2012) and Armageddon, Texas (2014) are all published by Atticus Books.   Click here to find out more at the Atticus website!

Click here to watch Tommy take part in the acclaimed Show & Tell series at the Roger Smith in New York City. It's a sad tale of friendship, family, and broken bones. Enjoy!

Travel the World with Tommy Z

About Tommy Zurhellen

Tales From the V F W

Click here to find out more about Tommy's award-winning Messiah Trilogy!

Join Tommy and the gang for the latest FICTION SCHOOL podcast, courtesy of iTunes! It's a show devoted to writing and the writing life. And leprechauns. Click here to download episodes for free!

Live from the Roger Smith Hotel

You've got to see the world if you want to write about it. Follow Tommy on all his writing adventures as he searches for stories, legends, artifacts and tall tales! Follow the (almost) world-famous ZERO BLOG, or click here to read his dispatch from Norway, "Chasing the Dragons"  on the Atticus Books website!

feel the dragon fire ...

For veterans, every story is a war story. Follow Tommy on his latest narrative project as he talks with vets all over the country, listening to the stories that really matter. Click here to join the journey!

writing, worldwide